Moroccan Chickpea Salad

13 Jan

Moroccan Chickpea Salad - this one scores a 10/10 for gluten free leftover-worthiness!

My friend Erin (who by the way works at a winery, how cool is that!) sent me this new recipe she found. She’s an allergy-laden foodie like me and I take her recommendations very seriously! This dish was a nice, light change from the really heavy meals my bf and I typically make, and my stomach actually felt great afterwards! (My stomach has been giving me the cold shoulder as of late).

Erin found this recipe on a new Canadian recipe site, 20 Minute Supper Club. I pretty much followed this particular

recipe verbatim, (unusual for me!), but I didn’t need to take any “short cuts” this time. I bought all the ingredients, every single one, and it was truly an easy dish to make! No cooking!!

Okay, I did actually cook. I baked some chicken breasts as per Erin’s suggestion and threw them on top. Good call Erin!

Here she be!

Moroccan Chickpea Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • 1 med. tomato, diced
  • 1 med. onion or 6 green onions, diced (I used green onions – very tasty!)
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2 cup of feta cheese
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 3 T red wine vinegar
  • 2 T fresh lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)
  • 1 T fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp fresh mint
  • 1 T  ground cumin
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Toss diced vegetables & drained chickpeas. Stir dressing ingredients together. Pour over veggies and toss.

Easy as pie!

Naturally, I doubled this recipe as thankfully so – it made great leftovers, no reheating necessary!

4 Responses to “Moroccan Chickpea Salad”

  1. Erin January 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    MB, great picture and thanks for the “props”….See you soon.

  2. Lauren January 14, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    Mmm. Light, comforting and delicious =D.

  3. Meg January 22, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    mmm… LOVED THIS ONE!! 10/10!!

    • mlaff January 25, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

      You are invited over any time to try my experimental dinners! When I made this the second time. with tofu instead of chicken, Mike cried, “Nooo! This isn’t a dinner! I want something gooey and cheesy and with MEAT!!!!”

      I’m glad someone appreciates my attempt at healthy food!!

Leave a comment