Chicken Saltimbocca

15 Jan

I love Italian food. After browsing a book by Giada De Laurentiis, I knew I had to try some of her recipes! The first thing I made was this recipe for Chicken Saltimbooca. Yum. Why had I never thought to pair chicken and prosciutto before is beyond me – what a match made in heaven!

Chicken Saltimbocca.. I served it with wild mushroom risotto and corn roasted with sea salt and chili pepper.

I’ve made this recipe twice now. I needed a “do-over” from the first time I made it, in which I decided to throw the chicken in the oven instead of pay frying it. I overcooked it. I ate all of it but my boyfriend couldn’t; it was too dry for his taste. (I ate his portion the next day for lunch and re-heated it with some of the juices and it turned out fine. It was still way too good to not finish!)

The second time I made it, when I had some family over, I skipped the pan frying again (I am after all the Lazy GF Chef!) and put the chicken in the oven for 350 degrees for half an hour. Much better. My family couldn’t believe that I had.. wait for it.. learned how to cook! Apparently, that was the first time I had ever cooked for them. They had heard the stories of my attempts to cook aka, the “MaryBeth is Cooking! Bloopers Role”, from my boyfriend Mike. But they never imagined I could make something so tasty (and gluten free!) without burning anything or having some other kind of totally preventable kitchen accident. Hurray for progress!

As for the state of the kitchen after I cooked, that’s another story. One could only describe it as pure mayhem. This is a regular occurrence in my kitchen.

Back to the recipe, I decided to post it exactly as it was written by Giada, i.e. like it was originally meant to be cooked a la pan frying, in honor to the tiny and peppy cook who would be invited into my kitchen any day!

Chicken Saltimbocca by Giada

Ingredients

  • 6 (3-ounce) chicken cutlets, pounded to evenly flatten (I used chicken breasts)
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 6 paper-thin slices prosciutto
  • 1 (10-ounce) box frozen chopped spinach, thawed (I used pan fried fresh spinach)
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1 (14-ounce) can low-salt chicken broth (I used one cup of broth made with Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base)
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

Directions

Place the chicken cutlets flat on the work surface. Sprinkle the chicken with salt and pepper. Lay 1 slice of prosciutto atop each chicken cutlet.

Chicken Saltimbocca in the making.

Squeeze the frozen spinach to remove the excess water. Season the spinach with salt and pepper. In a small bowl, toss the spinach with 1 tablespoon of oil to coat.

Arrange an even, thin layer of spinach atop the prosciutto slices. Sprinkle the Parmesan evenly over each. Beginning at the short tapered end, roll up each chicken cutlet as for a jellyroll. Secure with a toothpick.

Heat the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil in a heavy large skillet over high heat. Add the chicken and cook just until golden brown, about 2 minutes per side. Add the chicken broth and lemon juice, and scrape the browned bits off the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. Bring the liquid to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium. Cover and simmer until the chicken is just cooked through, about 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer the chicken to a platter. Simmer the cooking liquid over high heat until it is reduced to about 2/3 cup, about 5 minutes. Season the cooking liquid with salt and pepper, to taste. Remove toothpicks from the chicken. Drizzle the reduced cooking liquid over the chicken and serve immediately.

5 Responses to “Chicken Saltimbocca”

  1. Lauren January 15, 2010 at 9:16 pm #

    Lovely! This sounds delicious =D. I love spinach!

  2. Jessica January 16, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

    Congratulations on your cooking success! Families can be a tough crowd 🙂 I would love to cook some of Giada’s yummy recipes but my boyfriend has a hefty crush on her – bringing the cookbook into the house might be detrimental 🙂

  3. mlaff January 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Thanks Lauren and Jess! Jessica, I’m on a major budget right now (just bought a house with the bf!) so instead of buying cookbooks (which I love holding in my hands) I ended up finding some great Giada recipes on the Food Network. http://www.foodnetwork.com/giada-de-laurentiis/index.html. The bf doesn’t need to know who they’re from!;)

  4. Meaghan January 26, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    This was delicious! Thank you soo much for sharing 🙂

    • mlaff January 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

      Glad you liked it!!

Leave a Reply

