Eating Out – Gluten Free in Kelowna, BC

8 Jan

I’ve had quite a few hits and misses eating out in Kelowna. Here’s a brief rundown of the great, bad and the ugly:

Quails Gate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

The bf and I at Quails Gate for dinner. LOVE.

TRY THIS! My all-time favourite restaurant and dining experience in Kelowna is Quail’s Gate Winery/Old Vines Restaurant. Both the food and wine are amazing and the kitchen is super knowledgeable about allergies and avoiding cross-contamination. They can also make almost anything on the menu gluten free. I have many favourites, but my number one favourite dish here is the Mushroom Risotto with White Truffle Oil. You’ve never tasted anything like it!

Don’t miss the: Mushroom Risotto, Beef Carpaccio, 2009 Dry Riesling.

TRY THIS! My other top picks include:

  • Cabana Grille. The Tropical Tuna Salad is out of this world.
  • Lakeside Dining Room at the Hotel Eldorado.
  • Wild Apple Restaurant & Lounge at Manteo Resort.
  • Raudz Regional Table. Amazing, mouthwatering, delicious, need I say more? Oh yes, I should: they are also mixology master – try the fresh fruit martinis!
  • Dunn Enzies Pizza Co. They make their own gluten free pizza crust, and it’s much better than any store bought gf pizza crust I’ve ever had! Don’t miss the Diego’s Inferno (chorizo sausage, tomato, onion, green pepper, three cheese blend, chipotle cream) or the Cali-Familia (chicken breast, smoked bacon, tomato, three cheese blend topped with avocado aioli). YUM.
  • White Spot. Believe it or not, White Spot is pretty allergy aware and they have a separate gluten free menu (love that!) The Fajita Salad? Awesome!
  • Cactus Club. Try the Tuna Tataki (no yuzu vinaigrette) and the Jambalaya rice bowl.
  • The Rotten Grape. Delicious tapas and a great wine selection. The first time I went here, I got sick from a little bit of cross-contamination. But I have been quite a few times since and been fine – they have really improved their allergy awareness.

Places I plan to try this year:

RED FLAG Restaurants where I’ve had “questionable” gluten free food (most likely cross-contamination issues):

BIG RED FLAG The place I will never, ever dare to eat at again:

I will work on this list as I dine out more. I’d love to discover great Indian, Thai, Mexican and Sushi restaurants, so please let me know if you have any recommendations for these or other Celiac-safe eateries. The Kelowna chapter of the Canadian Celiac Association also has a more comprehensive list here. Happy dining!

15 Responses to “Eating Out – Gluten Free in Kelowna, BC”

  1. Alli January 8, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    Suko Thai was good too!!!

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 12, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

      It was, but I’ll have to try it again.. My stomach felt iffy that night, but it may have been the spiciness!! I would say the Agean Grill too, but I think they closed down in West Kelowna, and is only open in Peachland now??

  2. Jodie January 8, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Mamma Rosa is great too – authentic Italian! They have gluten-free pasta and gluten-free sauces! I’ll use any/all events/occasions to go there!!

    http://www.mammarosa.ca

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 12, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

      Hi Jodie – I’ll add Momma Rosa to my need-to-try list as well! I think I might start reviewing restaurants as I go to them, so I have more anecdotal evidence of great gf places to eat in Kelowna. I know for me, when I read actual stories of restaurant visits, I feel a lot ‘safer’ about eating there, and am more likely to give it a try..

  3. Sabrina January 9, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    You should try Mimi’s Italian Grill! They can make their pizza’s gluten-free and most of their pasta dishes as well…you may be pleasantly surprised!

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 12, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

      Thanks Sabrina – I love trying new gf pizzas – I wonder if they make their own crust? That’s why I like Dunn Enzies so much – house made crust!!

  4. Michelle January 9, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Waterfront Wines is EXCELLENT. My husband has gluten, dairy, and egg allergies, so I just call the chef, Mark Filatow, bfore we dine and he gets a menu together for him… saves on the awkward moments explaining at the restaurant especially with clients. Their catering arm, Details Catering, is also great. And no, I’m not related to anyone there!

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 12, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Thank you Michelle! I’ve been meaning to get there for the longest time, but I kept on assuming (bad I know!) that they wouldn’t have gluten free options, just based on checking out their menu.. But you’re the 3rd person who has now mentioned it to me, so I plan to check it out (and review it) soon – thanks!!

  5. Poppadoms August 18, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Hello, I’m the owner of Poppadoms Indian restaurant in Kelowna. Just wanted to let you know we have created our own gluten-free menu which highlights cross-contamination too. We make our dishes for you, so you can also spice it up or down. Happy dining, and please let me know how your experience is if you decide to try us

    • Davina April 5, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      Love love love this place!!!!

  6. Davina Kula October 24, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    Hi girl… I hate to inform you, but Dunn Enzies does NOT make their own crust, I watched him take it out of the package,(Glutino) which i have to agree is one of the better ones. Beware of the butter chicken pizza, it can be iffy since the curry is a premix. I have been glutened once there, but after talking to him, have had no further complaints. I recommend “Fernando’s Taqueria”, i eat there a few times a week, owner has celiac… Also Le Plateau’s owner/operator is g-free, and the crepes with wild mushrooms was a spiritual experience. Ciao bella

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef October 30, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Hi Davina, Thanks for the great tips!! Yeah, Dunn Enzies is interesting.. Good to know that they’re now doing Udi’s crusts… Out of all pre-made crusts, Udi’s is decent-in fact, my boyfriend prefers them to the Quejos thin crust ones I usually use. But that’s too bad-they used to make their own!! One of the owners said that she was glad I liked the crusts so much, because they were “a pain” to make. They were good-no sweetness, which I find a lot of gf pizza crusts to have-they actually tasted like the “real ones” I remembered. (PS Up until 3 years ago, the guys at Panago knew my name, and my order every Friday night. I miss them:( ). As for Dunn Enzies, although I’ve never been glutened there (sorry that happened to you!!) they screwed up my order on five separate occasions, so I stopped going there. If they had such a margin for error, I was worried that they would mess up the cross contamination thing. To this day, they owe me to free pizzas, but I haven’t redeemed those yet.

      As for Fernando’s Taquería, oh Lordy, I LOVE THAT PLACE! I would go a lot more often if I could afford to! Last week I treated myself to a tortilla maker from The Chef’s Edge, and that $21.99 was worth it! I made these lime chicken tacos, with fresh tortillas, that tasted exactly like (or even better) than the ones I ate in Nicaragua a few months ago. I will post the recipe here. Since I discovered real fresh corn tortillas (nothing like store-bought ones), I feel like I’ve found the best thing since sliced bread-for Celiacs!!!

      Thanks for mentioning that new (?) French place-I checked out their gluten free menu online, and I hope to visit it really soon!!

      Thanks for the tips Davina! Let me know if you ever find a killer eggs benny here in Kelowna. I need a breakfast joint!!

  7. Davina April 5, 2012 at 9:44 pm #

    Dunn Enzies, whilst very good,
    Uses glutino crusts, NOT homemade, which is why they are so small. Go pick some crusts up at choices and compare. Pizzas are good, but I need 3 @ $30 to feel close to full. Convenient, but you pay for it. Thanks

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef April 6, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      Hi Davina,

      I haven’t been to Dunn Enzies in quite a while now. Although I love all their different toppings, they would get something in my order wrong every time. Which then worries me about them getting something about my need for gluten free wrong.. The last time I went, I told them I probably wouldn’t be eating there anymore, and they promised me 2 free pizzas. I need to go get those!! Anyways… when they first opened, they did make their own gf crusts; they were really good. One of the owners told me they were a “pain” to make, which I guess is probably the reason they went to Glutino crusts.. (Don’t know if I’ve ever tried those…)

      I DO make my own pizzas at home all the time.. I’ve tried making my own crusts but they were all terrible. My favourite crusts to use are by Quejos, which you can get at Choices.. Very thin, but they don’t have that sweet flavour that I find a lot of gf crusts always have.

      If you ever go to Victoria, (besides the amazing bakery there), you should check out The Joint pizzeria. They make their own gf crusts, and they are BIG! And delicious.. Wish I could get that recipe!!!

      MaryBeth

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cakes! (Or Cupcakes!) by i.heart.peace - Pearltrees - December 13, 2011

    […] Eating Out – Gluten Free in Kelowna, BC « The Lazy GF Chef Wild Apple Restaurant & Loung e at Manteo Resort. Raudz Regional Table . […]

Leave a Reply

