Taking a Break

9 Aug

I must announce that I will be taking a break from my blog, due to the sudden and tragic passing of someone near and dear to my heart.

Dutch (Arnold) Hopman

While myself and those around me go through the grieving and hopefully, the start of the healing process, I feel like I need to focus on the simpler things in life, like spending time with my family and dear friends, all of whom have been so overwhelmingly supportive to me and my partner through this trying time.

I’m going to attempt to be a better gardening buddy to my boyfriend who is the true green thumb between us. The other day, I tasted my first organic peach and apricot from our very own backyard!

I’m going to ride my bike and feel the wind in my hair while smelling the sweet aroma of summertime.

I’m going to seriously attempt to get into shape — something I’ve been saying forever. But I know exercise works wonders and that a more fit me is going to feel better because of it.

I’m going to continue to working on my cooking skills (if they can be called that!), although I am leaning towards all my favourite comfort foods right now.

My heart is broken, but I’ll keep my chin up and reflect on everything I learned from my cherished time with a really great man.  Remembering his gentle and giving spirit makes me want to become a better person, girlfriend, friend.

Dutch is gone, but will never be forgotten. His spirit will live on with all of the lives he touched, including mine.

5 Responses to “Taking a Break”

  1. Justin Jackson August 9, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Marybeth: I’m so sad to hear about this loss. I hope taking some time off will give you, and your loved ones, time to grieve.

  2. MB - The Lazy GF Chef August 11, 2010 at 5:34 pm #

    Thank you Justin.

  3. The Celiac DIva August 12, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    So Sorry for your loss, sending support your way. I love that you are taking his sweet memory and are going to enhance your life because of him. What a cool way to honor some one.
    hugs,
    Lauren

  4. shannon August 30, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    So sorry to hear about your loss. You are doing the right thing – taking a break to be present and to live more simply sounds like a very healing thing for you. Take good care.

  5. David Fowler November 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Sorry for your Loss Mary Beth. I hope come back soon!

Leave a Reply

