Basil, Mozza and Tomato Skewers aka Italian Salad Sticks

28 May

After going to a wine party at a friend’s house a few months ago, I fell in love with this easy appetizer which I like to call “Italian Salad Sticks” in reference to my dear Italian friend who introduced me to this wonderful, no-cooking-required creation!

And you must know this – I don’t even like tomatoes! Meaning my new devotion to this great party snack is quite the miracle.

My whole life – all 27 years of it – I have never liked, or even tolerated – raw tomatoes. Give me tomatoes in a soup, stew or chili. Give me ketchup, marinara sauce, tomato paste or salsa. Give me tomato-anything, just not raw tomatoes. I can’t bear to eat them!

(I do have to say, since getting diagnosed with Celiac just over a year ago, I have been trying to broaden my horizons. I have been know to be a picky eater. Very picky, if you can believe it!)

So I’m very pleased that I have learned to enjoy baby tomatoes paired with a few select ingredients – it has made all the difference! Maybe this snack is a good “baby step” towards my tolerance of tomatoes. We shall people, only time will tell.

Tomato, basil & fresh mozzerella - yum!

Basil, Mozza and Tomato Skewers

Ingredients:

  • A bunch of fresh basil
  • Mozzarella balls (we’re talking real mozza, not the hard kind!)
  • Baby tomatoes – the freshest, juiciest ones you can find!
  • Bamboo skewers
  • Optional: balsamic vinaigrette, sea salt

Directions

Wash all of your basil and tomatoes beforehand. It’s best if the basil has a bit of time to dry before you assemble the skewers.

Drain the liquid out of your package of mozzarella balls. Quarter them or cut them in half, depending on their size.

Take each bamboo skewer and slide on a basil leaf or two, folded in half. Slide on your mozza, followed by your juicy tomato, and ta da – finis! So easy!!

(I happened to have extra tomatoes, so each skewer got two!)

Now, you can either leave your skewers “naked”, like I did the first time I made them. As long as all your ingredients are fresh, they don’t really need anything added to them!

But for extra flavour, you can also drizzle balsamic vinegar and a bit of sea salt on them. That’s how I made them the second time around. And both versions? A tasty, easy-to-eat appy to impress all your friends with when you attend your next gathering.

Oh, and I should mention – these pair really well with wine. What wine you ask? I’m not sure, but I’m going to say all wine! I paired them with a nice Pinot Blanc made locally in the Okanagan Valley. Local and delish!

Leave a Reply

