Easy Greek Salad

19 Apr

I was asked to bring a gluten free salad (so I could eat it!) to a barbecue with my softball team. And since the lovely Erin, my friend who organized the team, has always been understanding of my allergies, I wanted to make something that she could eat too! So, along with being gluten free, the salad also had to be dairy and tomato free too.

I ended up making the most basic Greek salad ever, but it turned out quite well that even my vegaphobic boyfriend had his share!

Gluten free, dairy free and tomato free Greek salad!

Ingredients

  • Two red onions
  • Four bell peppers (try one of each colour!)
  • 2 English cucumbers
  • 1 package of goat feta cheese
  • 1 cup of the best olive oil you own (evoo)
  • 2 lemons
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced (less, if you like your garlic to be subtle)
  • 1 T oregano (2 T fresh)
  • Sea salt, pepper
  • Optional – baby tomatoes, olives

Directions

Dice up your veggies to your desired definition of “bite-sized” (I like mine chunky!) Combine your olive oil, juice of two lemons, minced garlic, oregano, sea salt and pepper. I usually combine mine in a jar with a tight fitting lid. When combined, shake it up for about 30 seconds to make sure it’s completely mixed, and then throw into salad and toss.

Top your salad with your crumbled feta cheese and you’re good to go!

Bonus: unlike many salads, this one stays nice and crispy when you have it for leftovers the day after – as long as your cucumber is fresh, everything should stay nice and crisp for 1-2 days after you make it!

Sidenote: I must say –  I have the greatest friends ever! On this particular occasion, Erin picked up gluten free sirloin burgers and gluten free smokies. And on top of that, the host kept the labels of everything for me to check on top of buying a loaf of gluten free bread so I “didn’t feel left out.”  And, some of the guys that came actually went out and bought gluten free chips for the BBQ! I am blessed with awesome friends!

3 Responses to “Easy Greek Salad”

  1. Stasia April 20, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    Yay!! This post made me soo happy… Three cheers for awesome friends!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Aubree Cherie April 21, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    Ooo, it stays crisp you say? I was already sold by the ingredients list – but that sealed the deal! I always seem to have limp and sad looking salads. It would be grand to be able to make extra and eat this a couple days in a row!

    (You’re friends definitely sound awesome!)

    ~Aubree Cherie

  3. MB - The Lazy GF Chef April 22, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    Yes, I love salads, and always like leftovers for lunches, and wilty salads just don’t do it!

    There’s another salad I make all the time (usually once every few weeks!) that stays fresh really well – the Moroccan Chickpea Salad:https://thelazygfchef.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/moroccan-chickpea-salad/. Super easy, and with a little tofu or chicken, it’s a great full meal deal!

Leave a Reply

