Dark Chocolate Raspberry Muffins

16 Mar

Dark Chocolate Raspberry Muffins - gluten free!

I LOVE dark chocolate and raspberry together and I am a regular at a little chocolate shop in town that has dark chocolate raspberry “hearts”. I decided that I wanted to try making chocolates at home, but I thought I’d try combining this sacred flavour combination in baby steps. So first I tried muffins. They turned out well and make a truly delectable mid-morning snack with my tea! I added bananas for a potassium boost but the flavour is mild – I didn’t want to take away from the intent of the muffins.

Next I think I’ll try a cupcake version. But I’m going to keep this recipe around – I hope you enjoy it. Please let me know how you like it!

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • Dash of salt
  • 3 overripe bananas, mushed
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened to room temperature
  • 1/4 milk (any kind, soy and almond work well)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips or chunks (I used Hershey’s)
  • 2 cups frozen raspberries

Directions

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees. Combine the flour, baking soda, xanthan gum and sugar. In another bowl, mix your mashed banana, butter, milk and eggs together. Whisk with dry ingredients until fully combined and then fold in the raspberries, followed by the chocolate.

Spoon into a greased or lined muffin tin and then bake for 25-30 minutes, until they are golden brown.

Let cool for 10 minutes before transferring to your storage device of choice. These muffins stay well for about 5 days and keep really moist due to the frozen raspberries that release a good deal of ruby coloured sweetness during the baking process.

Let me know what you think!

One Response to “Dark Chocolate Raspberry Muffins”

  1. Lauren March 17, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    They look fantastic! I’m sure that adding the bananas adds lots of moisture =D.

Leave a Reply

