Chicken and Wild Mushroom Cream Sauce on Jasmine Rice

4 Mar

My boyfriend, the non-GF Mike, brought home a few pounds of each Portobello and Shiitake mushrooms last night, as well as some fresh chicken breasts, so I decided to do something about it! Even having used cups of mushrooms, I still have lots left so I think I’ll try making some cream of mushroom soup next time!

Sometimes I have a tendency to overcook chicken, but this dish turned out great and the chicken was super moist – yum! I hope you enjoy it!

Funny fact – I used to hate mushrooms and only fell in love with them a few years ago when my boyfriend serves some butter flashed portobellos a top my steak. It was love at first taste!

Chicken and Wild Mushroom Cream Sauce on Jasmine Rice

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp butter or margarine

    Wild mushroom chicken a la the Lazy GF Chef!

  • 2 cups Portobello, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups of Shiitake mushrooms, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 3 cups of mushroom, vegetable or chicken broth (I use mushroom broth)
  • 1 cup of white wine or dry vermouth
  • 2-3 skinless boneless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup of cream, whole milk or almond milk
  • Sea salt and pepper to taste
  • Optional: Parmesan or Asiago cheese
  • Jasmine rice

Directions

Melt the butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add all the mushrooms and allow them to simmer for until they become highly fragrant, about 10 minutes. Stir every few minutes.

Start your rice and cook according to directions. I usually cook about one and a half cups of rice which serves my boyfriend and I, and gives me leftovers for the next day.

Add the white wine (or vermouth) and broth, and turn on to high heat. Reduce about a third, and then add the chicken and allow it to cook in the pan for about 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, slowly add in the cream or milk and simmer for another five minutes.

When it seems “done” – go with your feeling of when it’s ready – serve over rice, sprinkle with cheese and let the tastes create harmony in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

