Vietnamese Chicken Salad

29 Jan

This is already a new favourite that I found on 20 Minute Supper Club. It reminds me of a Vietnamese dish I had at a restaurant awhile back that I tried to recreate. This dish is quite a bit closer to what I actually had!

I took the leftovers of this salad to work the next day, and not thinking, popped it in the microwave.. Oops!  Hot chicken – good. Hot napa cabbage and cucumber? Not so much.. It would make a fine day-after cold salad and that’s what I’ll stick to next time around!

I didn't get any great pics of this one.. Having lighting issues in my 'new' (old) house - really dark and only fluorescent lights, ech.

Vietnamese Chicken Salad

Ingredients

  • 5 cups  boiling water plus 1/4-cup cold water
  • 1 pack of rice noodles
  • 2 cups of cooked, shredded chicken*
  • 1 firm, ripe mango, cubed
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1 chinese (napa) cabbage, finely shredded
  • 2 T chopped mint
  • 2 T chopped cilantro
  • 3 T fish sauce (I used Thai Kitchen Fish Sauce)
  • 2 T lime juice
  • 2 T rice vinegar
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1/2 tsp  minced garlic
  • 1/2 anaheim red chili, seeded, thinly sliced (about 2-tablespoons)

Directions

In a large bowl, pour 5-cups boiling water over rice noodles and let sit until softened, about 5 minutes. Drain, rinse under cold water and drain again. Use scissors to cut noodles in bowl into random lengths and set aside.

In another bowl, combine chicken, mango, cucumber, cabbage, mint and cilantro. In a small skillet set over medium heat, combine 1/4-cup water, fish sauce, lime juice, rice vinegar, sugar, garlic and chili. Stir until sugar is dissolved and mixture starts to bubble around edges. Remove from heat and add 3-tablespoons to rice noodles and toss well.

Transfer remaining vinegar mixture to chicken mixture and toss well to thoroughly coat. To serve salad, divide noodles among 4 bowls. Divide chicken mixture and serve on top of noodles.

* I’ll tell you a secret – I actually made this dish with leftover cornish game hen! But I didn’t tell me brother who was over at first, because I was worried he wouldn’t eat it!

Leave a Reply

