Poutine – a Canadian classic

14 Dec

Poutine a la The Lazy GF Chef. The green stuff is some sage I added to the gravy at the last minute for good measure.

One of my favourite pre-Celiac pub treats was the Canadian classic poutine. Fries, gravy and cheese curds, what more could a girl ask for to go with shuffle board, darts and a G&T with lime!

The other day I thought about how it was too bad that my last poutine was a “fake”.. At a hockey game, about one month pre-diagnosis, I decided that if I didn’t enjoy the game (which I didn’t, I have no love for hockey!), I would enjoy the food. I ordered a poutine and it came with that bright orange fast food nacho cheese, not the quintessential white cheese curds necessary for a true french poutine. Thus, my last memory of poutine was not a good one – it tasted all wrong with unnaturally coloured nacho cheese and, of course I got sick after – besides the poutine, I had a lot of other evil gluten-filled foods that night.

Anyways, when I mentioned how I missed poutine to my boyfriend, he suggested making it ourselves. Surely making poutine would be easier than making a gluten free version of my favourite comfort food of all time – perogies! The great gluten free perogy disaster was a sad day for me and I would pay dearly for some gf perogies right now!

Making the poutine was simple; I whipped up some homemade gravy made with chicken stock, shoestring fries (I bought the frozen kind instead of making my own – I am the lazy gf chef after all!) and some organic cheese curds from a local dairy farm. I baked the fries, sprinkled them with cheese curds (okay, a LOT of cheese curds), topped with gravy and voila. Delicious poutine and even “healthier” than what you’d get at a pub, as the fries were baked not fried!

The poutine was so good that I can’t stop thinking about it. I have to make it again!! This week, I’ll try it with beef gravy to mix it up.

Ingredients

  • A bag of frozen fries
  • Beef or chicken gravy (I used Emeril’s recipe for poutine gravy, but brown rice flour)
  • Cheese curds (if you can’t find them, try chopping up mozzarella or marble cheddar cheese into 1/2 inch cubes)

Instructions

Bake a batch of fries based on package instructions. While fries are in the oven, make the gravy. (I’ve recently seen gluten free gravy mixes in my local health foods store, so I’ll have to try that sometime and let you know how it turns out!) When the fries are done, pile them into bowls and cover with cheese curds or cubes. With the gravy piping hot (this is a must!) spoon over the fries and cheese mixture. The gravy will melt the cheese curds and before you know it, you’ll have a mouth-watering Canadian poutine experience. Yum!

Fun fact: The Word Press dictionary does not recognize the words poutine, perogy, or voila? Or, the Canadian spelling of anything? Huh!

6 Responses to “Poutine – a Canadian classic”

  1. Kate November 25, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    I know this is an older post, but I figured as a fellow poutine lover I should let you know (if you haven’t since discovered already, of course) that New York Fries poutine is gluten free! You have to watch for cross-contam of course, as they also make a few non-GF things that might sneak a crumb or two into your food… but most places have dedicated fryers, since pretty much all they make is fries. Delish! =)

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef November 25, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      I actually didn’t know that – thank you!!! I’ve pretty much shied away from fast food places after getting glutened by a “gluten free” Wendy’s burger (no bun!) But knowing the options would definitely make things easier!! I’m traveling this week and most of my lunches have been Thai Kitchen noodle bowls, which are good, but not very filling. Thanks for the tip!

      • Kate November 25, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

        You’re very welcome! =) I admit, I just don’t trust burgers unless I know for sure they’re safe now- so many have wheat filler in them, ugh. Sorry to hear you got dosed though!
        Where do you usually get your Thai Kitchen noodle bowls, by the way? I’ve only tried one flavor that I picked up from a gluten free specialty store, but they must be sold other places (… I hope, haha)?

  2. MB - The Lazy GF Chef November 26, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Do you live in Canada Kate? I’ve found them at a ton of stores here in BC – Save-on, Superstore, Nesters, Choices, I think even Walmart has them. Check out all their gluten free products here – http://www.thaikitchen.com/public/thaikitchen/TK%20Food%20Allergens.pdf. They also have lots of great, easy recipes. I even keep some of the noodle bowls or packets in my desk at work in case I get hungry. Hope you can find some!!

    • Kate November 27, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

      Yup, I’m in Canada too (Alberta, specifically, though I would rather be in BC, haha)! Thanks for the help, I’ll have to do some shopping =)

Leave a Reply

