Poutine & heart-shaped tubs, oh my!

10 Dec

I know – good bloggers blog every day… Like Julie from Julie & Julia – I’m reading the book now, looking forward to the movie, and will NEVER attempt to do most of the recipes from “Mastering the Art of French Cooking”! I can almost gaurantee it!

I of course, haven’t been blogging daily. I’ve still been cooking but have vowed to only post my best recipes, aka, the ones that turn out. And taste good!! As my boyfriend likes to say, 75% of my experimental gluten free cooking isn’t “edible”. Of course he is exaggerating. I would say at least 75% of my cooking is edible!

My bf and I the other night at my work Christmas party. Beforehand, we enjoyed a lovey wine and cheese picnic in our guest suite. So I didn't feel like I missed out on any of the glutenous treats they were serving at the party!

I’ve also been doubling up on all of my recipes to save time – it’s been a busy month – my boyfriend and I bought a house and just got possession of it! I’m looking forward to a bigger kitchen! We’re pretty excited but I know that owning a house (as opposed to living in a shoebox condo) is going to bring on a lot more work in general. And blood, sweat and tears (hey, it’s 40 years old!!) and of course money. Lots of expenses.

Nonetheless, I’m excited to finally set up a kitchen where there will be room for everything. Including our two sets of everything – my bf has already picked out where his “gluten area” is going to be – removed from everything else we eat on a daily basis!

I will probably blog a bit about the new (to us!) house. After all, I feel it my historical duty to archive the black and grey plastic marbled heart-shaped tub that’s currently in our carpeted (yuck!) bathroom, complete with matching black bidet and toilet. I think it’s important to document such historical artifacts so we can pass it on to the future generation!!!

Well, it’s time for me to start dinner – tonight we’re making “poutine” for the first time. Pre-celiac it was one of my favourite (naughty!) indulgences, and we thought, why not make it ourselves! So poutine it is. Yes, with the fries and gravy and (yummm) cheese curds, it’s not the most healthy or low-fat meal one could imagine, but we typically allow ourselves to have a naughty but yummy meal once a week. Usually Thursdays, while we watch Survivor..

I will post the recipe soon!! That is, if it umm, turns out!!

4 Responses to “Poutine & heart-shaped tubs, oh my!”

  1. sarahjam December 10, 2009 at 6:51 pm #

    Mmmmm… I had my first “real” poutine in Montreal this past November. SO delish. Yum!!

    • mlaff December 11, 2009 at 9:09 am #

      I know – so good.. And this recipe is even a bit “healthier” than what you’d get eating out – the fries are baked, not deep fried!

  2. Alli December 10, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    I can’t wait to soak in the Sexy tub and bidet myself when I am there for my Gluten-free meal!!!

    • mlaff December 11, 2009 at 9:08 am #

      Sounds good! I’m scared to try the tub and I don’t think I’ll try the bidet. My preference would be to hire a professional cleaner for the place!

Leave a Reply

