Easy-Peasy Beef Chili

30 Nov

Easy peasy gluten free chili!

I never liked chili growing up because my mom always made it with too many beans and not enough beef, and when my dad made it, my mouth would literally burn and become numb after the first bite.

Years later, I gave chili another chance when I discovered the wonder of crock pots (I think they’re GREAT!) My boyfriend and I have experimented with this recipe and now it is just right!!

Ingredients

  • 2 cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 4 cans of beans (I alternate with whatever I’m feeling on a particular day – butter beans, white and red kidney beans, chickpeas, lentils, fava beans, Romano beans, black eyed peas)
  • 1 can of corn
  • 4-10 cloves of garlic, depending on your taste
  • EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)
  • 2 red peppers, chopped
  • 2 portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 of a large white onion, chopped
  • 1 pound of extra lean ground beef
  • Seasonings to taste: Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, garlic powder, Spice Depot JoJo Seasoning, red pepper flakes, chili powder, cumin
  • Sour cream and cheddar (or Monterey Jack) cheese

Directions

Turn your crockpot on to 4 hours (high) or 8 hours (low) depending on your time line. Throw in all the canned goods.

In a medium saucepan, saute the garlic (chopped or minced), the red peppers, the portobellos and the onion in olive oil, on medium heat until the onions start turning translucent/brownish. (About 10 minutes.) Then empty the contents of the saucepan into the crock pot and give er a stir.

Keeping the saucepan on medium heat, brown the ground beef and season, according to taste with the Frank’s Red Hot Sauce, etc. Throw er in the crock pot.

Give it a good stir and then go about your day! An hour before serving, do a taste test and add more of whatever seasoning you think it needs more of. If the chili has gotten a bit too liquidy for your taste, remove the lid for the last hour and give it a stir now and then…

Garnish with sour cream and cheese and you’re good to go!

And the nice thing about this chili is that it gets tastier the day after, I swear! So it makes for a great leftover lunch!!

5 Responses to “Easy-Peasy Beef Chili”

  1. sarahjam December 20, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    How do you think this would taste with veggie ground? I’ve been feeling like chili but hate touching raw meat (ha)…

    • mlaff December 20, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

      I think it would work!! The beans and tomatoes and all the spices are very flavourful, so I would assume the veggie ground would absorb the flavours like tofu absorbs flavour! BTW I have a great pad thai recipe I made with tofu last night and it was delish – no raw meat to touch! I’ll post it this week!

      • sarahjam December 20, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

        Excellent! I’m going to try it this week! And yes, please do post the tofu pad thai 🙂

  2. sarahjam December 22, 2009 at 11:37 pm #

    I made this chili recipe last night and it was FABULOUS!!! And now I have leftovers to feed me all week… I substituted the lean ground beef with veggie ground round, and it worked perfectly.

    Thanks for the inspiration, MB 🙂

  3. sarahjam December 22, 2009 at 11:38 pm #

    Oops – link to my actual blog!

    http://jamrevolution.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/day-202-reading-again-and-chili-creation/

Leave a Reply

