Crockpot Sunday – Santa Fe Chicken Chili

16 Nov

I love chili, especially in the winter. I have my favourite beef chili creation down to an art (recipe to come!), but I’ve never been able to make a very flavourful chicken chili, until I tried I tried Santa Fe Chicken Chili by Karina’s Kitchen – I see why she’s the “gluten-free goddess!”

I changed it up a bit with some of my favourite things – Franks’s Red Hot Sauce, (more!) tomatoes, corn & salsa.Santa Fe Chicken Chili, yum!

Ingredients

  • 3 cans of stewed tomatoes (I used Hunt’s Stewed Tomatoes)
  • Two cans of navy beans or white kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • One can of pinto beans, rinsed and drained
  • Two cans of green chilis (I use the Old El Paso Green Chilis, 114 ml, find them in the Mexican section)
  • 2 or more green onions, chopped
  • 1/2 a white onion, chopped
  • 6-10 cloves of garlic (depending on your preference), minced
  • 2 cups of gf chicken broth (I use Organic Better Than Bouillon Chicken Base)
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • Frank’s Red Hot Sauce – as much as you want, I like it hot!
  • Optional: Chipotle Sauce, red pepper flakes, Spice Depot JoJo spice, red pepper jelly – I used them all of course.
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • About 1 cup of your fave salsa
  • Juice of one lime or about 10 small squirts of lime juice
  • Drizzle of Agave Nectar (I found this in the alternative sweetener section)
  • Shredded cheddar or Monterey Jack cheese
  • Sour cream for garnish

Directions

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees. Turn on your crock pot to 4 (high) or 6 or 8 (low) hours. Thrown in the tomatoes (with juice). Add the rinsed on drained beans (3 cans), followed by the green chilis, green onions, chopped white onion, minced garlic, chicken broth, balsamic vinigar, hot sauce and “optional” spices, depending on how hot you like your chili.

Cut the chicken breasts into large chunks and them them in an oven-safe dish and cover with salsa. Then cover with tinfoil, and put into the oven for 30 minutes.

When you take it out, pull the chicken apart with two forks and add to crockpot. Give it a good stir. An hour before the chili is done, add the lime juice and agave nectar. When serving, sprinkle some cheese, garnish with a big dallop of sour cream and enjoy!

This recipe refrigerates well, and even gets better as the flavours meld over the next few days, so serve it up a second time for a quick dinner or pack it up and take it to work – I do both!

**Skip the sour cream and cheese to make this recipe dairy free!

Leave a Reply

