Pasta Fagioli – An easy dish that will make your house smell delish!

9 Nov

So good, I’m actually eating the leftovers as I write this post!

Because I’ve discovered the wonderful crock-pot in all its glory and have started a “Crock Pot Sunday” tradition, I had to check out “A Year of Slow Cooking” at http://crockpot365.blogspot.com. The blogger and author, Stephanie, spent one full year cooking only with a crock pot, and gluten free to boot! Needless to say, I’m pretty excited to try out all the delectable recipes she came up with!

gluten free soup recipe pasta fagioli

Pasta Fagioli - perfect to warm you up on a chilly day!

The first one that I tried is her Pasta Fagioli. She said it tasted like the soup at the Olive Garden, something I liked pre-gf. Plus, I thought it would be a great soup to go into the upcoming winter days here in Kelowna – the snow could arrive any day now!

I didn’t have all of the ingredients, so I modified the recipe somewhat – see the original here: http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/2008/10/day-305.html.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound lean ground beef, browned and drained
  • 1/2 large red onion, chopped
  • 2 big carrots, chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, sliced
  • 1 big or 2 small cans of diced tomatos
  • 1 can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 cups beef broth – I used “Better than Boullian” Beef base
  • 1 cup of dry red wine
  • 1 jar (16.5 oz) pasta sauce – I used “Simply Naturals Red Wine Marinara Sauce”
  • 2.5 cups of dry pasta – I used Tinkyada’s Brown Rice Spiral Pasta. (I used a lot more pasta than the original recipe, because I like a lot of pasta!)
  • A few shakes of oregano and “JoJo Spice” – a potato spice you can find at most supermarkets in Canada
  • Lots of shakes to taste – Frank’s Red Hot Sauce

Directions

Brown the meat on the stove, drain well. Add a bit of hot sauce if you like it spicy like I do.  Throw it in the Crock Pot (mine is a 6 quart Crock Pot and this recipe filled it to the top).

Add the chopped veggies, the diced tomatoes (with juice), the beans, the pasta sauce, the beef broth and all of the spices.

Cover and cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4-6 hours. An hour before you’re ready to eat, throw in the rice pasta and give it a stir.  One hour later it will be ready to serve!

___

Since I was making dinner, my boyfriend (happy that I’m giving it a try!) decided to treat me to a yummy appetizer of fried Swiss cheese with fresh sage. I ate most of it and then threw it on the soup as a garnish.

Yum! Photo to come.

Leave a Reply

