Gluten Free Cranberry-Walnut Banana Loaf

27 Jan

Although I love my Chocolate Cinnamon Banana Bread (one of my all time favourite recipes!), I had to try this banana bread recipe with cranberries – yum! I had to hold my hands behind me to resist throwing in some cocoa, cacao nibs, chocolate chips or the like, but it was worth it. The tartness of the cranberries gives it the zing factor so chocolate isn’t needed in this case. (Yes, I’m a bit of a chocolate snob.)

Even my boyfriend Mike – who resists almost everything on the non-savoury side of things – ate it up!

This recipe is from Allergic Living – I made a few adjustments to maximize deliciousness, so you can check of the original recipe here.

I hope you like it as much as we did! This goes great with tea for breakfast or for an anytime snack. Enjoy.

Gluten Free Cranberry Banana Loaf

Ingredients

  • 1¼ cup all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp of xanthan gum
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1⁄4 cup olive oil
  • 1⁄2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs or 4 tbsp egg replacer
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 cups frozen cranberries
  • A handful of chopped walnuts (not in the original recipe, but they add a nice crunch)

Directions

  • Pre-heat oven to 350°F. Grease a loaf pan and set aside.
  • In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and xatham gum.
  • In a separate bowl, use a whisk to cream together oil and sugar. Stir in eggs, bananas, cranberries and walnuts.
  • Add wet ingredients to flour mix and combine. Pour into loaf pan and bake about 45 minutes, until a sharp knife inserted comes out clean.
  • Turn loaf out onto cooling rack to cool. Slice and serve.
10 Responses to “Gluten Free Cranberry-Walnut Banana Loaf”

  1. InTolerantChef January 27, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I always have a stash of frozen bananas in the freezer for great recipes like this. The walnuts would be a nice textural contrast too. Yumm…

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 31, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      My boyfriend always asks about the black bananas in the freezer – but they do come in handy, quite a bit!

  2. Theresa January 30, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Mmmmmmm, this looks really good! I love cranberries and we always seem to have over-ripe bananas lying around

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 31, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      Me too! I just tried these as muffins yesterday – just bake them for 30 minutes instead-yum!

  3. bellini January 31, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    I came across your blog Googling for a Slow Food Chapter in the Kelowna area. I was happy to find another Okanagan blogger since we seem to be few and far between. I worked for an allergist for many years and sympathize with the restraints of a gluten free diet. These pages prove that is does not have to be boring!!!!

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 31, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      I’m excited to check out your blog too – I haven’t really come across too many bloggers from the Okanagan!!

  4. Aubree Cherie February 1, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    This banana bread is right up my alley, I LOVE cranberries. I’ve linked this recipe to My fav top 10 recipes from last week post. Thanks!

    ~Aubree Cherie

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef February 6, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      Thanks Aubree – you’re a sweet heart!!

  5. Carol, Simply...Gluten-free February 1, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

    This looks like a great way to use up those cranberries in my freezer! Thanks.

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef February 6, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      Let me know how you like it!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

