Oven-Baked Scarborough Fair Chips

12 May
Scarborough Fair Chips

Gluten free, oven-baked Scarborough Fair chips!

After rummaging through my fridge the other day, I realized that I had fresh parsley, sage, rosemary and thyme! And for someone who rarely ever buys fresh herbs (although I’ll be planting some in my backyard this weekend), I was pretty excited.

So I thought I would pay adage to the old Simon and Garfunkel song, “Are You Going to Scarborough Fair” and make something that you’d expect to find at a fair – fries!

But when I saw that my large potatoes we growing multiple limbs, I decided to use my baby potatoes and make oven-baked chips instead. They turned out so good that I ended up snacking on them straight out of the oven while I was snapping pics!

I ate them with good old fashioned Heinz ketchup, but I think next time, I’ll try them with a nice garlic aioli. (Click here for Emeril Lagasse’s garlic aioli recipe, it’s perfect!)

Ingredients

  • 10 baby potatoes
  • 1 T fresh parsley
  • 1 T fresh sage
  • 1 T fresh rosemary
  • 1 T fresh thyme
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 T extra virgin olive oil
  • High quality sea salt

Directions

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

After rinsing your potatoes (no need to peel!), slice them into thin chips, which will yield about 10-15 chips per potato. Or, to save on time, slice them thicker and then add about 5-7 more minutes to your cooking time.

Now add your herbs, garlic and one tablespoon of olive oil to a blender or food processor and pulse on medium until they are finely ground. (I think a food processor would be preferable in this situation. Lacking one, I used my blender and had to do a lot of scraping to get everything ground properly.) Add more olive oil as needed so the paste can easily spread, while remaining tacky enough to stick to the potatoes.

Now combine your potatoes and herb paste in a bowl and mix until the potato slices are well coated. Sprinkle with sea salt, give it another toss and then they’re ready to bake!

Cover your baking pan with parchment paper if you have it – this makes it much easier to clean up in the end. Spread your potatoes throughout the baking pan, with as little overlap as possible. Then pop it in the oven for 10 minutes. At the ten minute mark, take them out and flip them to the other side for an even crispiness on both sides.

Now put them back in for 10-15 minutes – 15 minutes if you like them nice and brown and crispy like me.

Then remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes before enjoying! Of course, you can save them for later, but they are quite tempting straight out of the oven, as you’ll find out!

Best paired with a light summer icy-cold drink on a sunny patio. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Oven-Baked Scarborough Fair Chips”

  1. Linda May 18, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    Looks good. I’ve make oven fries, but I don’t think I’ve done chips. I have most of the herbs on hand too.

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef May 19, 2010 at 10:50 am #

      Thanks Linda – let me know how you like them!

  2. Aubree Cherie May 19, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    Yummeee! And so easy too, I’ve got these on a menu already. I can’t wait to try them!!! I’ve also added the recipe to my favorite recipes from the last two weeks post :)

    ~Aubree Cherie

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef May 19, 2010 at 10:52 am #

      Wow Aubree – thanks for featuring these on your Top 10 Tuesday – that’s the first time this blog has been featured in anything!

      Let me know how you like the chips! I definitely want to make some kind of garlic aioli for the next time I make them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

