Canadiana Cajun Rice Bowl

4 Feb

Canadianana Cajun Rice Bowl with Chicken and Turkey Sausage

There’s a dish I usually get when I got to the Cactus Club restaurant. For the most part they can do it gluten free, if the kitchen knows which ingredients to substitute. Meaning, it’s made me sick once and been okay the three other times I’ve ordered it.

Sometimes I just want to give up on eating out, which used to be one of my favourite hobbies! But that is a story for another day.

Today I want to share with you my interpretation of the Cactus Club dish. My version is better. At least according to my taste – a bit of spice, turkey sausage instead of uber-fattening regular sausage and loaded with sauteed veggies and a load of garlic. (Garlic is a superfood!)

This is my take on the Cactus Club dish, and how I would imagine a Canadian “jambalaya” would be like. Of course, the only thing truly Canadian about this dish is.. me. I hope you like it!

Canadiana Cajun Rice Bowl

Ingredients

  • 1 package of turkey sausage, sliced (I used an Italian Basil type)
  • 1 chicken breast, cubed
  • 2 red bell peppers, sliced
  • 1 large white onion, sliced
  • Olive oil
  • Hot sauce (I used cayenne pepper & chipotle sauces) – the amount depends on how hot you like it!
  • 1/2 cup pasta sauce
  • 1.5 cups of rice (jasmine works well)
  • 1 cup Parmesan cheese

Directions

Brown the chicken in a bit of olive oil in a pan over medium heat.

Start your rice and follow directions on the package. I add extra water so it’s nice and fluffy for this dish.

In the pan, add in the sausage and sautee until the chicken is fully cooked. Then add the red pepper and onions and cover with tight fitting lid for about 10 minutes. Give them a shake or stir every few minutes and  add in your hot sauces once the veggies are softened.

A few minutes before your rice is ready, add the pasta sauce to the pan and mix. Add more if you like your dishes very saucy, but don’t add too much – the goal is to add a bit of tomato flavour but not have it overpower the whole dish. Mix in your Parmesan cheese, leaving a bit for garnish.

Serve the mixture over rice, sprinkled with the rest of the cheese and a dallop of sour cream to cut down on the spicyness if need be.

This dish has become a go-to in my kitchen. It’s relatively easy to make and my boyfriend loves it, especially with extra cheese.

I think you will like it too! If you make it, please let me know what you think of it!

2 Responses to “Canadiana Cajun Rice Bowl”

  1. Jessica January 11, 2011 at 6:32 pm #

    Awesome! Newly Celiac diagnosed and adjusting to GF living. Plus I hate high effort cooking. This recipe was easy and really good. A big hit with the man!
    J

    • MB - The Lazy GF Chef January 12, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it!! I have a super easy new recipe I’ve been making ever since I discovered gf gnocchi at the Mediterranean market! I think you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

