The Best Asparagus Soup You’ve Ever Had. Ever.

17 Nov

I admit it. I am so into soups, stews and chilis right now. They warm you up for winter, they’re simply to make and they really keep well, so I love them for leftover work lunches.

The Best Asparagus Soup You've Ever Had. Ever.

The Best Asparagus Soup You've Ever Had. Ever.

The other day, I bought “Soup Bowl” from “Love Food Books.” It’s not a gluten free cookbook, but the recipe is simple enough to adapt. I use gluten free stocks (someday I’m going to try to make my own!) and substitute gf flour in place of wheat flour. (I use Kinnikinnick’s All-Purpose Celiac Flour).

My first attempt at making soup from the book didn’t produce glowing results – I followed the recipe exactly but in the end, the potatoes were not cooked, note to self: always pre-cook potatoes!

But today when I realized I had a bunch of asparagus I needed to use up, I discovered a gem – asparagus soup. When I took my first taste, I was overly impressed with the result – I hadn’t burned anything, over or undercooked anything or even set off the fire alarm. The one is lazy gf chef perfection!

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch of asparagus or 2 bunches of super fine asparagus
  • 3 cups of veggie stock (I used Better then Bouillon Organic Vegetable Base.)
  • 1/4 cup of butter
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 tbsp all purpose gf flour
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cups milk, 1/2 cup cream (skip these, and the result is a delicious and less fattening dairy-free soup!)

Directions

Wash and trim the asparagus – discard the woody part of the stems. Put aside a few tips for garnish.

Throw the asapargus into a decent sized saucepan with veggie stock, bring to a boil and then reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes. Drain and reserve the stock and put the asparagus in a separate bowl.

In the now-empty pan, melt the butter. Add the onion and cook on low heat until just slightly coloured. Add in the gf flour and stir for  a minute, then add the stock gradually and bring to a boil. Simmer until thickened, about 2 or 3 minutes.

Add in the asparagus, coriander, lemon juice and salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for 10 minutes and then take off the heat and cool for another ten minutes.

Throw the whole batch into your blender and blend until smooth. Rinse out your saucepan and then pour the blended soup back in.

Stir in the milk and bring to a boil, then turn down to a simmer for a few minutes. Stir in the cream, simmer for another few minutes. Add the garnish and you’re ready to serve!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

